Building a Life – One Piece of Furniture at a Time

So, it’s been one whole week since I’ve moved to New York City!! …and I still can’t believe it. Every time I step outside I’m like, “I live here?!” Yes, I live here.

And although there have been so many exciting moments (which you can read more about here), the one thing I wanted to share in particular on this blog was the STRUGGLE (the struggle was real) with building all my furniture. In total – a bed frame, a book case, a nightstand, a dresser, AND a couch. That is five total pieces of furniture I had to build – mostly by myself because I’m stubborn and don’t like to ask for help – all within the week. And to be honest, I never want to do anything like that ever again. Most everything was fine, with three exceptions:

  1. I threw out my back trying to move my bed frame from the package delivery room on the first floor to my apartment…on the seventeenth floor.
  2. I spent over four hours on said bed frame, trying to assemble it, but ended up being so frustrated that I am essentially now sleeping on a cracked slate of wood.
  3. Oh, and also, the smell of all these wood pieces is like sawdust, which reminds me of those wood shavings that you put inside of a gerbil’s cage. So, now my apartment smells like a gerbil.

But, on the plus side of all of this, I now have 95% of my apartment furnished.

And as I was sweating profusely over one very stubborn drawer hinge, it hit me, building furniture is like building your life. Without taking the time to build it, it’s just going to be an empty room. It may be long, dull, and tedious at times…but let me tell you, it feels so nice to actually sit on a couch and not on the floor. For me, there are different approaches to this.

  1. The Night Stand
    • This was the first piece I put together – it was tiny, and the directions were easy to follow. It took some work, but I didn’t have to exert myself all that much. And then at the end of it, I had a nifty little night stand! These are the things I see as the day-to-day operations. How are you building your life up every day? i.e. How are you interacting with the people you see on a regular basis? What are you doing to practice self-care? etc. The building blocks. IMG_0728
  2. The Bed Frame
    • Literal shambles. The box was too heavy and I threw out my back. Pieces were broken. There were 18,000 steps involved. It took over four hours. I was tired. And by the end of it, I ended up with some janky version of a “bed frame.” But basically, it was turning hundreds of little pieces of wood into one big piece of wood for me to sleep on. The moral of the story is sometimes, it’s not actually worth it. And that’s okay. Because honestly, that is four hours of my life I will never get back, and I would’ve been perfectly happy sleeping on my mattress on the floor. IMG_0737.JPG
  3. The Sofa
    • By this time, I had almost given up on my furniture. I was like, “I’ll just sit on the floor, thanks.” But then I had a gentle nudge from a friend, and we ended up putting the sofa together. Surprisingly, this was the easiest one! It was like an accordion sofa, folded up in a giant box. And when we took it out of the box, we just unfolded it and threw the legs on. Piece of cake. I see this as the reward. After building that pain-in-the-ass bed frame, it was God’s way of saying, “Here you go! Enjoy!” And of course, everything is always better with a friend.  13892045_10153750270502555_6665383943139599097_n.jpg

I’ve learned it’s not about what you’re building, but how you build it. The outlook you have about what you’re doing. That’s what really matters.

 

Leave a Reply

